News 2021-06-05 Those who won the 15th Concours Géza Anda

Following an exciting final round at Tonhalle Maag on 5th June 2021 the Jury, chaired by Gerhard Oppitz, awarded the following prizes of the 15th Concours Géza Anda:

1st Prize: Anton Gerzenberg (1996, Germany)
2nd Prize: Julian Trevelyan (1998, UK)
3rd Prize:
 Marek Kozák (1993, Czech Republic).

The Liszt-Bartók Prize was awarded to Mihály Berecz (1997, Hungary), the Mozart-Prize and the Audience Prize to Julian Trevelyan (1998, UK), the Hortense Anda-Bührle Fellowship to Giorgi Gigashvili (2000, Georgia).

The triennial Concours Géza Anda is considered one of the most prestigious and demanding piano competitions. It was created in memory of the famous Hungarian-Swiss pianist Géza Anda by his widow Hortense Anda-Bührle. 2021 marks the centenary of Géza Anda’s birth and the 15th Concours Géza Anda.

36 candidates from all over the world competed in four rounds – the Audition, the Recital, Mozart-Semifinal and Final – at MKZ Musikkonservatorium Zürich, Stadthaus Winterthur and Tonhalle Maag, Zürich between 27th May and 5th June 2021.